Fall Out Boy Release Modernised Cover Of ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’

Fall Out Boy have given fans an unexpected treat – an updated cover of Billy Joel’s single ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’.

Tracking major news events and pop culture references from 1989 to 2023, the new FOB version of the song includes lyrics about ‘Deep Fakes, Earthquakes’ and the Icelandic volcano eruption of 2010.

Have a listen to Fall Out Boy’s ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’ via the lyric video below:

In a post to fans, the band said “I thought about this song a lot when I was younger. All these important people and events- some that disappeared into the sands of time- others that changed the world forever. So much has happened in the span of the last 34 years- we felt like a little system update might be fun. Hope you like our take on it.”

The song is also available on a limited edition vinyl which you can preorder here.

The band are currently in the middle of a huge US summer tour in support of latest album ‘So Much (For) Stardust’ which will arrive in the UK later this year.

Check out the list of UK and Europe tour dates below:

Have a look at the list of tour dates below:

17 – Poland, Warsaw, Cos Torwar
18 – Czech Republic, Prague, Sportovní hala Fortuna
20 – Italy, Milan, Mediolanum Forum
21 – Germany, Munich, Zenith
23 – France, Paris, Zénith
24 – Netherlands, Amsterdam, AFAS Live
25 – Belgium, Brussels, Forest National
27 – UK, Leeds, First Direct Arena
28 – UK, Glasgow, OVO Hydro
29 – UK, Manchester, AO Arena
31 – UK, Birmingham, Utilita Arena Birmingham
2 – UK, London, The O2
6 – Germany, Oberhausen, Rudolf Weber-Arena
7 – Germany, Hamburg, Barclays Arena
8 – Germany, Berlin, Max-Schmeling-Halle

More like this