Metallica Announce New Album ’72 Seasons’


Metallica have announced the details of their new full-length album, their first since 2016’s ‘Hardwired…To Self-Destruct’.

It’s going to be called ’72 Seasons’ and will be released on April 14 2023.

Vocalist James Hetfield had this to say about it:

“72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry.”

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. 72 Seasons
02. Shadows Follow
03. Screaming Suicide
04. Sleepwalk My Life Away
05. You Must Burn!
06. Lux Æterna
07. Crown of Barbed Wire
08. Chasing Light
09. If Darkness Had a Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room of Mirrors
12. Inamorata

And the first taste is here as well. That’s ‘Lux Æterna’, a driving piece of riffy, beefy rock and roll-glazed metal. Short and sweet, especially when it comes to Metallica songs, it’s a catchy number, to say the least.

Here it is:

And if that wasn’t enough, they have also announced all of their touring plans for 2023 and 2024.

The band will be playing two nights in every city that they visit, with each set being completely different. And the supports on each night will be different as well.

SO, the first night on European shows will be supported by Architects and Mammoth WVH and the second night will be supported by Five Finger Death Death Punch and Ice Nine Kills (Five Finger Death Punch/Ice Nine Kills play show 1 in Paris, Architects & Mammoth WVH play show 2 in Paris. Volbeat replaces Architects on show 1 in Gothenburg).

And the first night in North America will be supported by Pantera and Mammoth WVH, and the second night will be Five Finger Death Punch & Ice Nine Kills (Greta Van Fleet replaces Pantera on show 1 both weekends in Mexico City).

Here are all the dates:

APRIL 2023

27 – AMSTERDAM Johan Cruijff Arena
29 – AMSTERDAM Johan Cruijff Arena

MAY 2023

17 – PARIS Stade de France
19 – PARIS Stade de France
26 – HAMBURG Volksparkstadion
28 – HAMBURG Volksparkstadion

JUNE 2023

16 – GOTHENBURG Ullevi Stadium
18 – GOTHENBURG Ullevi Stadium


04 – EAST RUTHERFORD MetLife Stadium
06 – EAST RUTHERFORD MetLife Stadium
11 – MONTREAL Stade Olympique
13 – MONTREAL Stade Olympique
18 – ARLINGTON AT&T Stadium
20 – ARLINGTON AT&T Stadium
25 – INGLEWOOD SoFi Stadium
27 – INGLEWOOD SoFi Stadium


01 – GLENDALE State Farm Stadium
03 – GLENDALE State Farm Stadium


03 – ST.LOUIS The Dome at America’s Center
05 – ST. LOUIS The Dome at America’s Center
10 – DETROIT Ford Field
12 – DETROIT Ford Field

MAY 2024

24 – MUNICH Olympiastadion
26 – MUNICH Olympiastadion

JUNE 2024

07 – HELSINKI Olympic Stadium
09 – HELSINKI Olympic Stadium
14 – COPENHAGEN Parken Stadium
16 – COPENHAGEN Parken Stadium

JULY 2024

05 – WARSAW PGE Narodowy
07 – WARSAW PGE Narodowy
12 – MADRID  Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano
14 – MADRID Estadio Cívitas Metropolitano


02 – FOXBOROUGH Gillette Stadium
04 – FOXBOROUGH Gillette Stadium
09 – CHICAGO Soldier Field
11 – CHICAGO Soldier Field
16 – MINNEAPOLIS US Bank Stadium
18 – MINNEAPOLIS US Bank Stadium
23 – EDMONTON Commonwealth Stadium
25 – EDMONTON Commonwealth Stadium
30 – SEATTLE Lumen Field


01 – SEATTLE Lumen Field
20 – MEXICO CITY Foro Sol
22 – MEXICO CITY Foro Sol
27 – MEXICO CITY Foro Sol
29 – MEXICO CITY Foro Sol

More like this