The Hu release first episode of mini docuseries ‘Citizens Of The World’

Image credit: Khishigsuren Baasan

The Mongolian hunnu rock band have released a three-part docuseries on their career to date.

The Hu have spent the past five years dominating audiences across the globe with their self-branded genre of ‘hunnu rock’—a unique blend of Western modern rock/metal and Mongolian throat singing using traditional Mongolian instruments sung entirely in their native language. 

Having accumulated over 329 million combined streams and 290 million video views, two Top 5 Mainstream Rock charting singles, multiple sold-out headlining global tours, festival appearances including Coachella, Lollapalooza and Download Festival and rave reviews from Billboard, NPR, GQ, The Guardian, Revolver and even Sir Elton John.

 In the episode, viewers get an introduction to the band’s four founding members–Gala, Jaya, Temka, and Enkush—and to their traditional instrumentats, including the Morin Khuur, Tovshuur and Tumur Khuur, while presenting The Hu’s main message of inspiring listeners to awaken the warrior spirit inside of themselves and to use that courage to spread goodness throughout the world. The episode ends with the announcement of the band being named UNESCO’s “Artist For Peace” recipients for 2022.

The final two episodes, airing March 1 and 15 respectively, will cover their journey to UNESCO’s Paris Headquarters where they received the designation in a ceremony held last December and their following concert at the renowned Casino de Paris.

The band will also be appearing across Europe this summer for festival season, see a full list of appearances below.

Tour Dates

6/7      Nickelsdorf, AT – Nova Rock

6/11   Leicestershire, UK – Download Festival 

6/15   Clisson, FR – Hellfest 2023

6/16   Landgraaf, NL – Pinkpop 2023

6/29   Werchter, BE – Rock Werchter 2023

7/5      Aix-les-bains, FR – Musilack 2023

7/6      Madrid, ES – Mad Cool Festival 2023

7/19   Bontida, RO – EC9

Tickets are on sale now at

More like this