City and Colour Announce New Album ‘The Love Still Held Me Near’

A new record from Dallas Green’s emotionally stirring project is coming. Best start preparing yourself now.

City and Colour have announced that they have a new record coming up.

It’s going to be called ‘The Love Still Held Me Near’ and will be released on March 31 via Still Records.

Dallas Green had this to say about it and where it came from:

The Love Still Held Me Near was born out of unimaginable loss and the subsequent journey through the grief and heartache that followed,” explains Green. “It’s about digging deep down into yourself and attempting to unearth hope and light in the things that can comfort you through those times. For me that has always been writing and recording music, so that’s exactly what I did.” 

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. Meant to Be
02. Underground
03. Fucked it Up
04. The Love Still Held Me Near
05. A Little Mercy
06. Things We Choose to Care About
07. After Disaster
08. Without Warning
09. Hard, Hard Time
10. The Water is Coming
11. Bow Down to Love
12. Begin Again

There’s also a new taster for you to check out. It’s track two, ‘Underground’, a soft patter of a country tune which wraps itself around you with tenderness and tenacity.

It’s a track about gripping onto every moment that life offers us, because we never know if it will be the last time we do it.

Here it is, let it inspire you today:

It follows on from the heartwrenching ‘Meant To Be’, which offers up a perfect juxtaposition to the sentiments of ‘Underground’:

More like this