Periphery Announce New Album ‘Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre’

Periphery are back and sound more visceral and varied than ever before.

Periphery are back and have announced a new album, the follow-up to 2019’s ‘Periphery IV: Hail Stan’.

It’s called ‘Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre’ and will be released on March 10 via  3DOT Recordings.

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. Wildfire
02. Atropos
03. Wax Wings
04. Everything is Fine!
05. Silhouette
06. Dying Star
07. Zagreus
08. Dracul Gras
09. Thanks Nobuo

And you can hear two tracks right now, as noted by guitarist Mark Holcomb here:

“We spent more time on Periphery V than any other release in our history,” explains Mark Holcomb. “We challenged and pushed ourselves harder, and along the way we grew even closer as a band. We are so proud of the final results! I also wanted to mention how exceedingly grateful we are to our fans for being so patient in waiting for this record. We wanted to show our appreciation by giving you two songs today instead of one. We have a very busy 2023 and 2024 planned so we’ll see you on the road!”

There’s opener ‘Wildfire’ which is a riff-heavy juggernaut that will give you instant neckache whilst also possessing an absolute earworm of a chorus and a jazz piano break.

That sounds like this:

And ‘Zagreus’, which is a rager from start to finish, with blistering intensity hitting you from every direction.

Here it is:

More like this