The Hold Steady Announce New Album ‘The Price Of Progress’

The Hold Steady have announced the details of their 9th full-length album, and it’s coming very soon.

The Hold Steady are kicking off 2023, and their 20th anniversary, with the release of a new album, their first since 2021’s ‘Open Door Policy’.

It’s going to be called ‘The Price Of Progress’ and will be released on March 31 on the band’s Positive Jams label via Thirty Tigers.

Vocalist Craig Finn had this to say about it:

“These are some of the most cinematic songs in The Hold Steady catalog and the record was a joy to make. I feel like we went somewhere we haven’t before, which is a very exciting thing for a band that is two decades into our career.”

The artwork looks like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. Grand Junction
02. Sideways Skull
03. Carlos Is Crying
04. Understudies
05. Sixers
06. The Birdwatchers
07. City At Eleven
08. Perdido
09. Distortions of Faith
10. Flyover Halftime

You can hear the first taste right now, and that’s in the form of ‘Sideways Skull’. A vibrant, vivacious and poetically vocal piece of off-kilter wonderfulness, it’s a beauty.

Craig had this to say about it:

“Sideways Skull is a rocking song about rock and rollers. In this case, they’ve been taken out of the game for a bit of rest, but still keep their dreams alive as they discuss past glories. We loved the big sound of this when Tad Kubler brought it into the band, and the studio performance of it felt especially joyful. We’re happy to put this forth as a first look at The Price of Progress, and the album’s title even comes from this song.”

Here we go then:

More like this