Royal Blood Announce New Album ‘Back To The Water Below’

Royal Blood have announced their fourth studio album, ‘Back To The Water Below’, set for release September 08 – and shared its lead single ‘Mountains At Midnight’.

Image credit: Tom Beard

The follow-up to 2021’s ‘Typhoon’ album, the new record will be the first that’s been entirely self-produced by the Worthing rock duo.

As a taste of what that sounds like, Royal Blood have today shared brand-new single ‘Mountains At Midnight’, which you can listen to below via its music video.

All three of Royal Blood’s albums to date have reached Number 1 in the charts, meaning the band have a chance to bag a fourth consecutive chart-topping album.

But beyond the accolades, Royal Blood have described how ‘Back To The Water Below’ marks a degree of experimentation for the pair, with drummer Ben Thatcher saying:

“I think this record was about letting the ideas take us where they needed to go. If there was a song that was calling us to do something that wasn’t typically what we’re known for, that’s where we’re going to go. 

“The songs are in charge and if that means having a record that’s quite varied that’s what we’re going to go for, rather than trying to shoehorn everything into the same world.

“As a result, we’ve made a record that’s a bit of a rollercoaster. It’s everything we could do.” 

Reflecting upon their journey so far, meanwhile, vocalist and bassist Mike Kerr has said: 

“No-one saw the years of us playing in loads of bands to no-one, that all gets swept under the carpet because the other story is magical and much more wondrous. 

“Luck is where passion meets opportunity. We got our golden ticket and walked out as tiny ninjas. 

“We were in the right place at the right time, and we have to remember to give ourselves the credit that we didn’t get into this position by winning a quiz show, we put in a serious amount of work. It’s taken us four albums to realise this isn’t luck, we’re good and we’re committed to this.”

See the full album artwork, emblazoned with a golden jellyfish, below – along with the full tracklist.

  1. ‘Mountains At Midnight’
  2. ‘Shiner In The Dark’
  3. ‘Pull Me Through’ 
  4. ‘The Firing Line’
  5. ‘Tell Me When It’s Too Late’ 
  6. ‘Triggers’
  7. ‘How Many More Times’
  8. ‘High Waters’
  9. ‘There Goes My Cool’
  10. ‘Waves’

The album’s deluxe edition, meanwhile, will feature two single bonus tracks: ‘Supermodel Avalanches’ and ‘Everything’s Fine’.

Fans who pre-order the album from the band’s official store will receive access to a pre-sale for tickets for Royal Blood’s next UK headline tour.

Whilst dates for that headline tour haven’t been announced yet, Royal Blood fans will still be able to get their fix at various festival slots this summer – as will the lucky bunch seeing Muse in Huddersfield or Milton Keynes, who’ll get to see them as the support act for Muse

See full dates of Royal Blood shows below.


27th – Plymouth, Home Park (with Muse)

28th – Dundee, BBC Radio 1’s Big Weekend


20th – Huddersfield, John Smith’s Stadium (with Muse)

21st-25th – Glastonbury

25th – Milton Keynes Bowl (with Muse)


9th–  TRNSMT

23rd – Truck Festival (HEADLINERS)

27th-30th – Kendal Calling (HEADLINERS)

28th-30th – Y NOT? Festival (HEADLINERS)29th – Brighton Beach (HEADLINE SHOW)

More like this