SiM Announce New Album ‘Playdead’ Via Single ‘Red’

Japanese alt-metal band SiM have shared details of their brand-new album ‘Playdead’, set for release on September 27.

To mark the news, the band have today released new single ‘Red’, which is also the theme song for the new season of the Netflix anime series ‘Kengan Ashura’.

Hear a snippet of the new track and how it features on the Netflix series via the trailer below. 

And get the track in full here.

Revealing some of the influences behind the new single, and how it’s fundamentally a track about the colour of blood, SiM vocalist MAH has said: 

We aimed to create a sound that reflected the deep respect we have for the heavy music from the early 2000s, like Limp Bizkit and Korn. 

“The distorted guitars in the backing are an arrangement of the rhythm from Evanescence’s ‘Going Under’. The song embodies the history of rock music that’s ingrained in our flesh and blood, our DNA.”

The theme of the lyrics is “The Meaninglessness of Division”… We all have different cultures, speak different languages, have different physical attributes, etc. These are facts.

“But at the end of the day when you cut through the skin, what flows out is the same. Bright red blood. And yet regardless of being in close proximity of one another, the same country, the same city, the same school, even the same class, we as humans try to “divide”. 

“Groups are formed for foolish reasons, like favorite TV programs or celebrities that they dislike, and try to expose the “traitors”. Sadly, this can occur amongst music fans too. Fans watching the same band at the same live venue may say “I don’t like the person next to me” and start instigating mindless discussions on social media. 

“It’s a total waste of time. As artists, this is the very thing we despise the most. We want everyone to view us as their friends and family.”

See the full album artwork and tracklisting below.

1. Playdead 

2. Red 

3. Hide and Seek 

4. Sweet Dreams 

5. Die Alone 

6. Too Late 

7. Kiss of Death 

8. Sad Song 

9. BBT 

10. Do the Dance 

11. Not So Weak 

12. Under the Tree (Full Length Ver.) 

13. The Rumbling (Orchestra Ver.)

More like this