Neck Deep Release Politically Charged New Single ‘We Need More Bricks’

Neck Deep are in the mood for a protest on their latest single, ‘We Need More Bricks’.

Image credit: Nat Wood

The new track is the latest single to be released from their forthcoming self-titled album, which is set for release on January 19 via Hopeless Records.

‘Neck Deep’ will mark the band’s fifth studio album and will be the follow-up to 2020’s All Distortions Are Intentional.

It will also include previously released tracks ‘Heartbreak Of The Century’, ‘Take Me With You’ and ‘It Won’t Be Like This Forever’ – as well as today’s new track, which you can check out via its montage style video below.

Discussing the new track and its political message, the band’s vocalist Ben Barlow has said:

“‘We Need More Bricks’ is, in my opinion, Neck Deep at their political best.

“Touching on everything from the monarchy, immigration, protest laws and international wars. We find ourselves at a cross section in the zeitgeist where bricks could be used to build something, or to be destructive. 

“I’m calling on punks and those that want to make a difference, to do so. 

“As well as being our most poignant political track to date, it also features my favourite riff/breakdown we’ve ever written, with a mosh call that, I hope, makes the listener think about their role in the world, and to speak up, take action on the many injustices the world faces today. 

“I’m looking forward to playing this one live the most of any track on the record. If this one doesn’t get you moving then maybe Jason Derulo is more up your street.”

And as well as giving us a taste of this new politically charged verve, the band have also acknowledged their forthcoming record will bring a newfound confidence, with Ben adding:

“This album is the sound of us knowing ourselves and knowing our ability, 

“It’s unapologetically us. We’re professional songwriters now and we’ve really honed in on what we’re good at – but it’s also about having fun and enjoying writing these tracks. 

“And there are those little sonic signatures in the mix that even I can’t really put my finger on that just make it Neck Deep. 

“It happens when we get in a room together and it clicks – it’s us just doing our thing like we always have.”

Neck Deep are also set to play Alexandra Palace on March 28 – visit the band’s site for more information and to buy tickets.

And check out the colourful album artwork of the forthcoming record, and its tracklist too.

1) Dumbstruck Dumbf**k

2) Sort Yourself Out

3) This Is All My Fault

4) We Need More Bricks

5) Heartbreak Of The Century

6) Go Outside!

7) Take Me With You

8) They May Not Mean To (But They Do)

9) It Won’t BeLike This Forever

10) Moody Weirdo

More like this