Polaris Confirm ‘Fatalism’ Album Release Following Death Of Guitarist Ryan Siew

Polaris have confirmed their forthcoming album ‘Fatalism’ will be released as planned, following the recent passing of guitarist Ryan Siew.


Siew sadly passed away a little over three weeks ago at the age of just 26.

The band wrote on their social media a few days later: “It is with shattered hearts & the deepest sorrow that we tell you our dear brother and bandmate Ryan Siew passed away on the morning of Monday June 19”

And now in the wake of this tragedy, the band have decided to continue with the release of their forthcoming album ‘Fatalism’, set for release on September 01.

In a post explaining their decision, Polaris have described how they hope the album now reconnects with fans in a new way, even under the tragic circumstance.

“After much consideration, in the face of everything we are dealing with, we have decided to proceed with our upcoming plans. This means our new album FATALISM will still be released on September 1. 

“This is the last set of complete songs that we wrote together with Ryan and though the circumstances of their release are now framed by this tragedy, the meaning of the songs and the love we have for them has not changed. 

“We are incredibly proud of this record and looking forward to sharing it with you, and now more than ever we hope that you will connect with it.”

The Australian outfit have also said they intend to continue with their ‘Fatalism North Australian & North American Tours’, in addition to a handful of international dates.

They added of these shows:

“These shows were always going to be special to us, but now they come with a different weight.

“Playing these shows will not be easy… It will be different. It will be beautiful & bittersweet. But this is what we love most, and right now we choose to put our faith in the healing power of art and community. We want to do this for ourselves, for you, and for Ryan. We hope to see you there.”

See the full ‘Fatalism’ artwork and tracklisting below – and visit the band’s site for tour dates

01. Harbinger
02. Nightmare
03. Parasites
04. Overflow
05. With Regards
06. Inhumane
07. The Crossfire
08. Dissipate
09. Aftertouch
10. Fault Line
11. All In Vein