Cold Years Drop New Single ‘Choke’

Cold Years have dropped their new, politically-charged single ‘Choke’.

Image credit: Nicole Mago

The new track takes a hard look at life in the band’s hometown of Aberdeen and is taken from the band’s forthcoming ‘A Different Life’ album.

The follow-up to the band’s 2022 ‘Goodbye To Misery’, the new album was recorded at The Barber Shop Studios in New Jersey, and helmed by producer Brett Romnes (whose credits include Hot Mulligan and Boston Manor).

‘Choke’ has been marked as a stinging takedown of the current political state of the UK, ending with the line, “Where you gonna go when you’ve become something you despise / You took it all, and now you’re nothing but desensitised.”

Have a listen to the new track via its lyric video below.

Speaking about the forthcoming album more broadly, vocalist Ross Gordon has talked about the process of making the album and how it compared to previous, saying:

“This is the first time I’ve ever come out of a studio able to listen to the tracks, where, and I say this 100% with conviction, we went in and did everything we wanted to do and more.

“I’ve never done that. I’ve always come out feeling like we could have done something better or different. But this album changed the game for all of us as a band. 

“We didn’t just do twelve tracks that sound the same. We tried to make things a little different. That happened naturally, and it’s the most musical experience I’ve ever had. 

“I definitely feel a confidence with this record that I didn’t feel on the others.”

See the full ‘A Different Life’ track-listing and album artwork below.

Cold Years A Different Life

1. Over It 

2. Roll With It 

3. Radio 

4. Low 

5. Youth 

6. Goodbye My Friend 

7. Choke 

8. Fuck The Weather 

9. Other Side 

10. Let Go 

11. Sick 

12. Die Tonight

More like this