Northlane Drop New Single ‘Afterimage’ 

Northlane have enlisted Karnivool vocalist Ian Kenny for their new single ‘Afterimage’.

Image credit: Kane Hibberd

The new track was debuted live recently during the band’s mammoth Australian tour – and now is available to fans in full.

For Northlane, the Ian Kenny collab seems a natural fit given the impact the 2013 tour with Karnivool had on Jon Deiley’s songwriting, according to the guitarist himself.

Speaking about the new single and about that inspiration in more detail, Deiley has said:

“Touring with Karnivool changed my perspective on songwriting by showing me a solid groove is more interesting than some flashy technical bit. 

“Writing a good groove means you can exploit it in different ways while still keeping it interesting over time.

“Karnivool influenced Northlane by showing us that songwriting and nailing every transition live is more important than jumping around. 

“We hopped on the Asymmetry tour years ago and were still riding the success of Singularity when we discovered pretty quickly some fans just want to stand and enjoy you playing the music perfectly. 

“I think that’s where our unhealthy hyper-critical evaluation of our performance came from!”

Have a listen to ‘Afterimage’ via the psychedelic visualiser below.

The new single is the final preview of Northlane’s forthcoming ‘Mirror’s Edge’ EP, which arrives April 12.

The band had previously shared ‘Dante’ and ‘Miasma’ from the project, the latter of which features Parkway Drive’s Winston McCall.

Check out the ‘Mirror’s Edge’ track-listing below.

  1. Afterimage (feat. Ian Kenny)
  2. Kraft (feat. Brendan Padjasek)
  3. Let me Disappear 
  4. Miasma (feat. Winston McCall) 
  5. Dante

More like this